In Memoriam: Sean Foran

Published: March 28, 2018

We’re very sad to have learned that our graduate alumnus Sean Foran died last summer from brain cancer. Sean began the program in 1989, finishing in 1997.  His dissertation, Animal Movement, was chaired by Kit Fine and Rogers Albritton. Sean taught at Kansas State University, Bowling Green State University, and Southwestern Illinois College in Belleville….

Read More

Sabine Tsuruda Appointed Assistant Professor at Queen’s University Faculty of Law

Published: February 8, 2018

Congratulations to Sabine Tsuruda who will be beginning a tenure-track position as assistant professor at Queen’s University Faculty of Law starting summer 2018. Sabine will complete her dissertation “Moral Agency and the Workplace” in Spring 2018 as part of UCLA’s Joint J.D./Ph.D. Program in Law and Philosophy. She will continue to do research on the…

Read More

Pamela Hieronymi Helps Give “The Good Place” Its Scholarly Credentials

Published: February 7, 2018

Professor Pamela Hieronymi is featured in an article in the Chronicle of Higher Education as one of the philosophers who inspired the producers of the NBC show “The Good Place.” You can read more about how Pamela consulted on the show at:

Read More

Congratulations to Brian Hutler!

Published: February 1, 2018

We are pleased to announce that Brian Hutler has filed his dissertation, “Cooperation, Religious Freedom, and the State,” and it has been accepted. His PhD degree will be awarded on March 23, 2018.

Read More

Calvin Normore Appointed First Brian P. Copenhaver Chair

Published: January 8, 2018

Congratulations to Prof. Calvin Normore, who has been appointed the first Brian P. Copenhaver Chair. Professor Normore is assuming a chair newly renamed in honor of professor emeritus Brian Copenhaver, which was generously endowed by Steven F. and Christine L. Udvar-Hazy. A special lecture to commemorate the occasion is being scheduled for spring quarter 2018. …

Read More

Congratulations Yost Prize Winners!

Published: October 9, 2017

The Yost Prize is given annually in honor of Robert M. Yost for excellent performance in teaching.  Congratulations to our 2016-17 winners Jenna Donohue, Kim Johnston, and John Kardosh!

Read More

In Memoriam: Tim Hall

Published: August 16, 2017

It is with great sadness that we report that our graduate alumnus Tim Hall has died.  Tim entered the graduate program in 1992 and finished his PhD in 2003. He spent time as a lecturer at UCLA, at the University of Vermont, and at Yale.  He then embarked upon a very successful career teaching and…

Read More

Congratulations to Laura Gillespie!

Published: August 2, 2017

We are pleased to announce that Laura Gillespie has filed her dissertation, “On the Possibility and Permissibility of Interpersonal Punishment,” and it has been accepted. Her PhD degree will be awarded on September 15, 2017.

Read More

Congratulations to Carnap Prize Winner!

Published: July 12, 2017

We’re pleased to announce that Kevin Lande is the winner of the 2016-17 Carnap Prize for his paper entitled “Parts of Perception.” More information regarding the prize can be found here and a list of previous Carnap Prize Essayists can be found here.

Read More